SAVE RIDEAU HIGH SCHOOL

Dear Neighbours,

Many people are unaware that Rideau High School (RHS) is on the list for closure once again. Ottawa Carleton District School Board (OCDSB) senior staff have recommended that this school close for the second time in seven years. They are recommending that students be bussed out to Gloucester High School.

rideau-high-school

SAVE RIDEAU HIGH SCHOOL

ATTEND THE MEETING WHERE THIS WILL

BE DISCUSSED BY TRUSTEES

WEDNESDAY FEBRUARY 15, 2017 AT 6PM

FREE BUSSES LEAVE FROM RIDEAU HIGH SCHOOL AT 5:30PM SHARP

(returning afterwards)

MEETING LOCATION: 133 Greenbank Road, Ottawa

(go to the back of the building to the OCDSB main entrance)

Top 5 Reasons Why Rideau High School Should Stay Open

  1. The enrollment is actually expected to GROW at Rideau over the next several years. New development will continue in Vanierand surrounding communities. Closing it now would be short-sighted.
  2. This fantastic school serves the highest needs population in Ottawa, including 70 new Syrian Refugees. Bussing students up to 10km out of the community is not a good solution.
  3. The school operates daycares, Orkidstra music program, First Nation, Metis and Inuit programming, and community services, which will be dispersed when the school is sold.
  4. Senior School Board staff did not include any feeder schools in the study of the area. Many elementary schools will be negatively impacted by this closure.
  5. The number one argument staff are using to close this school is that these students can’t get access to the course offerings needed because of low enrollment. The solution to this problem is multi-faceted, including adding French Immersion to the school, strict transfer rules, and investing in teachers so that these courses can be offered, with small class sizes.

If you support keeping the school open, please take action:

  1. Write to School Board Trustees about your reasons for keeping this school open:

Chris.Ellis@OCDSB.ca (Trustee for Rideau), Shawn.Menard@OCDSB.ca, Lynn.Scott@OCDSB.ca, Donna.Blackburn@OCDSB.ca, Mark.Fisher@OCDSB.ca, Erica.Braunovan@OCDSB.ca, Sandra.Schwartz@OCDSB.ca, Theresa.Kavanagh@OCDSB.ca, Shirley.Seward@OCDSB.ca, Christine.Boothby@OCDSB.ca, Anita.Olsen.Harper@OCDSB.ca, Keith.Penny@OCDSB.ca.

  1. Attend the Board Meeting, Wednesday, February 15 at 6 pm

(133 Greenbank Road, parking at rear) where the issue will be

discussed by Trustees. You can sign up to speak by contacting

samantha.flynn@ocdsb.ca at 613-596-8211 extension 8363.

Thank you for taking the time to read this,

SHAWN MENARD

School Board Trustee, Zone 9 – Capital/Rideau-Vanier wards

613-867-6772 | Shawn.menard@ocdsb.ca

For more information, please check out the ‘Save Rideau High’ Facebook page and go to http://www.ocdsb.ca and click on multi-year student learning and pupil accommodation planning.

Advertisements

Research Study shows compelling reason to keep Rideau High School open!

In a letter (see below) to all Ottawa Carleton District School Board trustees, Sheila Perry and Heather Amys submit a research study which strongly supports smaller school size. The study finds that small schools:

  • get better academic results,
  • promote better student behavior and are safer,
  • have higher rates of participation, and
  • are more cost-effective

For the full study, click here final-submission-to-trustees-research-based-conclusions-on-school-size-sp

  • OCDSB School Trustees,
    Ottawa Carleton District School Board,
    33 Greenbank Road,

    Ottawa, Ontario

    Dear School Trustees,

    Thank you for the opportunity to speak as a delegation on December 20, 2016 regarding the Eastern Area Review of the three secondary schools.

    Attached, please find “Research Based Conclusions On School Size” submitted by concerned residents in the Overbrook Community. This information follows our reference to the validity of small schools and the importance of public support for strong communities in Ottawa.

    We are deeply committed to supporting the students, staff and community at Rideau High School and we look forward to further dialogue about retaining our only community High School in our area.

    Yours truly,
    
    Sheila Perry, Heather Amys,
    Overbrook Community Representative Overbrook Community
    Sheila.perry014@gmail.com
    613 407-7434 cell
    c. Overbrook Community Association
     Jennifer Adams, Director of Education
     Mike Carson, CFO, OCDSB
     Natalie deRosiers, MPP
     Tobi Nussbaum, Councillor, Ward 13

Important Rideau High School Meeting Tonight, 7 to 9 pm at the school

It’s not too late to have your say on the possible closure of Rideau High School — Overbrook’s home school. (With apologies for the late notice.)

Sheila Perry will be the OCA’s representative at the meeting and she will be advocating on behalf of keeping the school open.

Click on the file for full details. rideau-high-school-information